Proquest Historical Newspapers
The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Users can cross-search titles.
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1849 - 1986
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1999 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe Los Angeles Times (1881-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1851-2007
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1889-1993
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1877-1994
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Farm, Fields and Fireside: Agricultural Newspaper Collection
- Farm, Fields and FiresideFrom the History, Philosophy and Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, this collection is a repository of digital facsimiles of historic agricultural newspapers published in the United States.To date, the repository contains more than 230,000 pages of farm newspapers, with another 70,000 pages in the works. More titles will be added to the repository as funding becomes available.
Historical Digital Newspaper Collections
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle OnlineThe Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived from 1960 to 1963. Phase I, which can be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.
- The Civil War : A Newspaper Perspective : November 1860-April 1865Full text of articles taken from issues of The New York herald, The Charleston mercury and the Richmond enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Includes news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements, and biographies. Also includes articles describing other than military concer
- Early American Newspapers, Series 1, 2 ,3 ,6, and 7, 1690-1922Includes images and full-text content from scores of historical publications.
British Newspapers
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database consists of the British Library's collection of the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney. Although the majority is published in London, there are some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, as well as a handful of examples from the American colonies. It includes over 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries
- 19th Century British Newspapers, (aka British Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
- Guardian and The Observer, 1791-2003 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. Coverage includes all titles of these newspapers. Observer (London, England) (1791- ) and The Manchester guardian and British volunteer (1925-1828), Manchester guardian (Manchester, England : 1828) (1828-1959), Guardian (Manchester, England) (1959- ). [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Current issues of The