Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Korean Studies: Finding Books and Articles

Smart Search

The University of Iowa Libraries
institution = University of Iowa Librariesinstitution code = UIOWA

InfoHawk

Romanization

In order to search Korean language materials and/or Korean authors' works in library catalogs in North America, you need to know how to romanize Hangul words.


Updated: 3/29/2013

JSTOR and ProjectMuse

  JSTOR Project Muse Other Databases
The Journal of Asian Studies

Coverage: 1956-2011

External content: 2012-2013

  Also indexed in Academic Search Elite (1990 to present), Cambridge University Press Current Complete  and Bibliography of Asian Studies.
The Journal of Japanese Studies

Coverage: 1974-2009

Coverage: Vol. 30 (2004) through current issue Also indexed in Academic Search Elite (1994 to present) and Bibliography of Asian Studies
The Journal of Korean Studies  Coverage: 1979-2012 Coverage: Vol. 1 (1969) through current issue Also indexed in Bibliography of Asian Studies

 If you search journal titles in InfoHawk or check Find Resources->E-Journals on Library Website menu,   will tell you which databases includes a specific journal and its coverage.

(As of February 25, 2015)

 

JSTOR (Journal Storage)Restricted Resource - UI Access Only

Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

JSTOR includes Citation Tools to save, export, track, and e-mail the citation. Some funtion requires you to create MyJSTOR account.

Do you know if JSTOR citations are formatted according to any specific style manual? --> Answer

Project Muse Restricted Resource - UI Access Only

With full text for well over 300 journal titles from university publishers, Project MUSE covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and many others. Coverage begins in 1995.

ProjectMuse comes with citation tools as well. Look for Save Citation, View Citation, Export Citation links on search result screen, bibliographic data screen, etc. ProjectMuse will provide citations in different style formats.

How to Cite Content in Project Muse: http://muse.jhu.edu/about/tools/pdf/cite_content.pdf

Updated: 2/25/2015

Resources in Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and Document Delivery Services

  • UBorrow: You can borrow books from the 13 CIC libraries plus the Center for Research Library. Request and receive what you need within a week. Log in here before you start searching the UBorrow catalog.
  •  WorldCat.org and OCLC WorldCat: To find materials in other libraries and request what you need via regular ILL and Document Delivery Services.

 

Korean Collections in North America: Member Universities of Korean Collections Consortium of North America

Smart Search and InfoHawk

Smart Search: http://smartsearch.uiowa.edu/

InfoHawk: http://infohawk.uiowa.edu/

 

 

  • Basic Search
  • Advanced Search

 

Updated: 3/29/2013

 

Subject Guide

Tsuyoshi Harada's picture
Tsuyoshi Harada
Contact:
100 Main Library
319.335.2448