Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Miscellaneous Reference Tools: Online Resources - Reference Tools

A list of various "ready reference" resources on the web.

Miscellaneous Reference Tools

AskNumbers.com
Measurement conversion calculators and charts: weight and mass, volume, area, time and temperature, and more.

Copyright subject guide
For use in teaching, copying, research, etc., and group showing of videos.

Google Scholar
A favorite bookmark, here is a quick link to the UI LIbraries subscription for Google Scholar.

Google Translate
Automatically translate a word or phrase or an entire web page in another language.

How Many? A Dictionary of Units of Measurement
Information on unusual units of measure, from land measurements to grit sizes to intervals of time.

Howjsay.com
A free online talking dictionary of English pronunciation.

*ipl2: Resources by Subject
This site is no longer updated, however some links remain workable. Includes almanacs, dictionaries, encyclopedias and more, contributed by the Internet Public Library and Librarians' Internet Index.

iTools
Collection of resources including maps, directories, and currency converters. Especially useful are the language tools: English dictionary, pronouncing dictionary, thesaurus, translator, language identifier, "conjugator" and acronym finder.

MapQuest
Official MapQuest website, find driving directions, maps, live traffic updates and road conditions. Also businesses, restaurants and hotels.

msn Weather
Provides the current temperature for Iowa City and elsewhere as well as hourly and day-by-day forecasts.

Sports Reference
A comprehensive site for statistics on major U.S. sports.

Thomas Register® of American Manufacturers
Information on U.S. and Canadian manufacturers. Offers important information on potential suppliers, competitors, and customers.


Subject Guide

Steve Ostrem's picture
Steve Ostrem
Contact:
Research & Library Instruction, Main Library, (319) 335-5521. If I'm not online, get help at the LIBRARIES link above or e-mail me.
Office hours: Thursdays 10-noon or by appointment, E201 Seashore Hall.
319-335-5521

Quick reference to other LibGuides

City of Literature: Links to resources in the writing and theater arts on campus and in the Iowa City community.
Elections
: Selected election resources for Johnson County, Iowa local and national elections, issues and parties.
Local News
: Links to daily newspapers and library subscriptions, television and radio websites.
Online Video
: Streaming video databases for the UI community and also free online sites.
Taxes
: Tax forms, instructions, publications with links to the I.R.S. and Iowa Department of Revenue.