Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

* Japanese Studies: Basics Guide *: Finding Books

InfoHawk

Union Catalogs

OCLC WorldCat  http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/oclc/worldcat      http://www.worldcat.org/ 

  • OCLC WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services with bibliographic records created by OCLC member institutions from all over the world. Waseda University and Keio Universty are OCLC members. It also includes holding information of the National Diet Library.
  • You can search WorldCat in Japanese lanaguge. You do not have to worry about Chinese character variants when searching WorldCat in Japanese. Click on 日本語 at the top of the screen or bottom of the search screen to enable the Japanese data display.
  • In order to directly export bibliographic data from OCLC WorldCat to RefWorks, switch your display to English mode. UI Libraries RefWorks information is available at http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/refworks

CiNii Books  http://ci.nii.ac.jp/books/

  • CiNii Books is a union catalog of Japanese university libraries and research institutions maintained by the National Institute of Informatics.


WebcatPlus  http://webcatplus.nii.ac.jp/ 

  • WebcatPlus provides the bibliographic information to the publications from Edo to the present. Includes information from Japanese research libraries, the National Diet Libraries, and other services including Aozora Bunko, books.or.jp, Wikipedia, etc.
  • Two search modes are available: 一致検索 and 連想検索.
  • WebcatPlus now offers links to digitized materials in NDL's Digital Libray from Meiji Era. 
                         
  • WebcatPlus is not RefWorks or Endnote compatible.


総合目録ネットワークシステム (国会図書館) 

  • This union catalog consists of bibliographic databases of the National Diet Library, some prefectural libraries, and some public libraries in government-designated cities. Check S

 

カーリル http://calil.jp/

  • Provides federated search for over 6,000 libraries' OPACs in Japan.

 

Updated: 8/2/2013

Library OPACs

Updated: 8/2/2013

National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館

National Institute of Japanese Literature 国文学研究資料館 http://www.nijl.ac.jp/

 For books published in Japan in the pre-modern period there are two essential bibliographies: Kokusho somokuroku 国書総目録 and Kotenseki sogo mokuroku 古典籍総合目録. These are available online at this site. 

Searching Book Chapters

 

Also try Keyword search in your library's OPAC, and OCLC WorldCat in addition to Title keyword search.

Updated: 6/10/2015

Books in Print

Books.or.jp http://books.or.jp/

Nihon shoseki somokuroku 日本書籍総目録 is Books in Print for Japanese books (and many western language books) published in Japan; a print version of this annual is also available in the Acquisitions Dept.

Shuppan nenkan 出版年鑑

Published annually. It is classified by broad subject. EA-5 Z3303 .S5 

Book page = Hon no nenkan ブックページ : 本の年鑑 

Published annually. Difference from the two sources above is that this titlet contains detailed descriptions of book contents. EA Ref. Z3303 .S5 

 

Updated: 6/10/21015

Out of print titles

Book Town じんぼう 古書データベース  「本の街」神田神保町オフィシャルサイト http://jimbou.info/book_search/index.jsp

Searchable database maintained by an association of used book dealer in the Kanda/Jinbocho area of Tokyo.

Antiquarian Booksellers of Japan 日本の古本http://www.kosho.or.jp/servlet/top

Searchable database for a national association of used book dealers.

 

Subject Guide

Tsuyoshi Harada's picture
Tsuyoshi Harada
Contact:
100 Main Library
tsuyoshi-harada@uiowa.edu