Skip to main content

Japanese Studies: Research Basics: Home

News from the Japanese Collection

Now we subscribe to KOD (Kenkyusha Online Dictionary)! It is available to the UI faculty, students, and staff. KOD includes Kenkyusha's New Japanese-English Dictionary and Kenkyusha's New English-Japanese Dictionary.

Updated: 9/15/2015

We are currently having a database trial.  ​Trial ends 30 Oct 2015.

Kikuzo II Visual, an online commercial database of the Asahi Shimbun, was widely refurbished in April 2010. By adding image data of the pages printed during the Meiji, the Taisho and the early Showa periods, it became one of the largest newspaper databases of Japan, and presently contains more than 13 million items of the articles and the advertisements of the paper since its first issue in 1879. Full-text searching is available for post-1985 articles.

This trial can accommodate two (2) simultaneous users.

Please send additional comments to Chiaki Sakai.

Date: 9/1/2015

We are now subscribing to the Japan Times Archives.

Date: 5/6/2015



  JSTOR Project Muse Other Databases
The Journal of Asian Studies

Coverage: 1956-2011

External content: 2012-2013

  Also indexed in Academic Search Elite (1990 to present, full-text), Cambridge University Press Current Complete  and Bibliography of Asian Studies (index, full-text available via InfoLink).
The Journal of Japanese Studies

Coverage: 1974-2009

Coverage: Vol. 30 (2004) through current issue Also indexed in Academic Search Elite (1994 to present, full-text) and Bibliography of Asian Studies (index, full-text available via InfoLink).

 If you search journal titles in InfoHawk or check Find Resources->E-Journals on Library Website menu,   will tell you which databases includes a specific journal and its coverage.

(As of June 10, 2015)


Updated: 10/19/2012

Other Useful Resources

Updated: 12/19/2013

Additional Resources in Japanese

Subject Guide

Chiaki Sakai
Japanese Studies Librarian

100 Main Library (Room 3016)

Iowa City, IA 52242

Phone: 319-335-5030

FAX: 319-335-5900
Website / Blog Page