Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Japanese Writers and Iowa: 1997-2006

Subject Headings

To find more materials written by the Japanese IWP authors in InfoHawk+, go to Browse UI Catalog screen first. Choose By author and use the following subject heading.

  • International Writing Program participants -- Japan

If you are looking for works about the Japanese IWP authors, select By subject search and use their names as your search term.

  • eg) Shimada, Masahiko, 1961-

Updated: 5/3/2016

To Find English Translations

If you are interested in which Japanese IWP writers' works have been translated into English, try these translation works databases. These databases are not a full-text database.

These databases are not comprehensive. Japanese Literature in Translation Search List Search doesn't include online publications.

 

Also search OCLC WorldCat. The database often includes table of contents of anthologies and edited books. You may find additional English translations of the IWP writers or works about them in the database.

5/3/2016

InfoHawk

Kiwao Nomura IWP '05 野村喜和夫

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 3/13/2015

Kyoko Yoshida IWP '05 吉田恭子

Iowa and IWP:

  • 野村喜和夫・吉田恭子編訳. アイオワで出会った詩人たち in 現代詩手帖 2006年4月号 p.168-173.

Updated: 3/13/2015

Masahiko Shimada IWP '04 島田雅彦

Iowa and IWP:

  • 快楽急行 in 朝日新聞 be on Saturday entertainment   (朝日新聞 is available in reduced print edition in the East Asian Collection)
「文学選手村」国籍いろいろ、蜜月の日々   (2004年9月18)
選手村・2 いちばん好きなオマーン人    (2004年9月25)
選手村・3 笑わせれば、主張はよく通る  (2004年10月2日)
  • 文豪書簡 in 朝日新聞 be on Saturday entertainment (朝日新聞 is available in reduced print edition in the East Asian Collection)
約束しよう 韓国のチング(友)へ・2       (2005年4月16日)
詩と女心と オマーンの詩人アシムへ        (2005年9月3日)
  • アイオワの作家村 in  新潮 2004年11月号 p. 270-271 
  • His "The Diary of a Mummy" was translated into Arabic by Asim Mohamed Al Saidi, his fellow IWP writer from Oman, and published in the 42nd issue of  نزوى : مخلة فصلية ثقافية = Nizwa; A Cultural Quarterly in Arabic (p. 232-239). Also translated into Uzbek for Uzbek newspaper "7 iqlim" by another IWP writer, Azam Abidov: http://www.ziyouz.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=1535&Itemid=59.

Updated: 12/16/2014

Gozo Yoshimasu IWP 1971, 2004 吉増剛造 

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 1/24/2013 

Minae Mizumura IWP '03 水村美苗

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 12/16/2014

Nori Nakagami IWP '02 中上紀 

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 1/24/2013