Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Japanese Writers and Iowa: 1967-1976

Subject Headings

To find more materials written by the Japanese IWP authors in InfoHawk+, go to Browse UI Catalog screen first. Choose By author and use the following subject heading.

  • International Writing Program participants -- Japan

If you are looking for works about the Japanese IWP authors, select By subject search and use their names as your search term.

  • eg) Shimada, Masahiko, 1961-

To Find English Translations

If you are interested in which Japanese IWP writers' works have been translated into English, try these translation works databases. These databases are not a full-text database.

These databases are not comprehensive. Japanese Literature in Translation Search List Search doesn't include online publications.

 

Also search OCLC WorldCat. The database often includes table of contents of anthologies and edited books. You may find additional English translations of the IWP writers or works about them in the database.

InfoHawk

Hiroshi Sakagami IWP '76 坂上弘

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 5/21/2013

Kazuko Shiraishi IWP '73 白石かずこ

Iowa and IWP:

  • 『アメリカンブラックジャーニー』 東京 : 集英社, 昭和 56 [1981] Main Japanese Collection PL861.H35 A78 1981
  • 対談 アイオワ川の流れは神田川に通じている・・・ : 白石かずこ vs 田村隆一 in 面白半分 15 (3) , p. 20-28, 1979/08.

Updated: 12/22/2014

Hajime Kijima IWP '72 木島始

Kaco Kawachi IWP '70 河地和子

  • Her works in UI Collection:

Updated:

Hiroshi Osada IWP '71 長田弘

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 12/22/2014

Gozo Yoshimasu IWP 1971, 2004 吉増剛造 

Iowa and IWP:

Updated: 1/24/2013 

Motoi Oda IWP 1969, 1984 小田基

  • His works in UI Collection:

Updated:

Yōkichi Miyamoto IWP '69 宮本陽吉

Iowa and IWP:

  • Essay in The World comes to Iowa : Iowa international anthology. Ames : Iowa State University Press, 1987. Main Library PN6014 .W632 1987
  • アイオワ大學創作科にて in 新潮 63(2), p.178-179, 1966.

Updated: 1/24/2013

Yumiko Tsumura IWP '68

  • Her works in UI Collection:

Updated:

Ryuichi Tamura IWP '67 田村隆一

Iowa and IWP:

  • 対談 アイオワ川の流れは神田川に通じている・・・ : 白石かずこ vs 田村隆一.  面白半分 15 (3) , p. 20-28, 1979/08.
  • 倉橋由美子「ヴァージニア」, 連翹, 日本脱出, アイオワの詩の学徒たち, 庭のなかの町, nutshell, 生きている額縁, 羅府の宿, and 手紙 in 詩と批評B. 東京 : 思潮社, 1969. Main Japanese Collection PL862.A474 S53 1970
  • アメリカからの手紙 1967年12月~1968年4月 and 往復書簡 1970年11月~1971年2月 吉増剛造・田村隆一・田村和子
    in 詩と批評C. 東京 : 思潮社, 1972. Main Japanese Collection PL862.A474 S534 1972
  • Be careful!, 小さな町, ポカンポカン, 詩とビール, and ドライステート
    in 自伝からはじまる70章 : 大切なことはすべて酒場から学んだ. 東京 : 思潮社, 2005. Main Japanese Collection PL862.A474 Z46 2005

Updated: 1/24/2013

Hatsuyoshi Tauchi IWP '67 田内初義

Iowa and IWP:

  • アイオワ横吹雪 1-[16]. 大東文化新聞 -2002年5月号(第535号)