Skip to main content
print page banner

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

A Visitor's Guide to Hardin Library: Finding Resources

Electronic Resources

Nearly all of Hardin's electronic databases and journals can be used by visitors on campus through a guest ID. 
In order to acquire a guest ID you must provide a government issued photo identification such as a passport or driver's license.

For more information or to request a guest ID visit the 3rd floor reference desk.

Publically Available Databases

  • PubMed — free access to MEDLINE, the premier biomedical literature database.
  • MedlinePlus — authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations. It also includes extensive information about drugs, an illustrated medical encyclopedia, interactive patient tutorials, and the latest health news.
  • CancerNet — gateway to peer-reviewed information by cancer type. Includes links to PDQ (Physician Data Query), SEER (Surveillance, Epidemiology, and End Results) and other specialized information resources. Also available in Spanish.
  • NLM Gateway — allows users of NLM services to initiate searches from one Web interface, providing "one-stop searching" for many of NLM's information resources or databases. Resources include MEDLINE, TOXLINE, ClinicalTrials.gov, and MedlinePlus.
  • National Guideline Clearinghouse — a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
  • Science.gov -- Science.gov searches over 38 databases and 1,950 selected websites of US government information. You can also explore websites by topics such as disease, mental health, and health care.

Publically Available Journal Articles

  • BioMed Central — an independent publishing house committed to providing immediate free access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.
  • DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)—this service covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals.
  • Free Medical Journals — is dedicated to the promotion of free access to medical journals over the Internet.
  • Highwire Press — more than 1.3 million free, full-text articles online.
  • Public Library of Science — a nonprofit scientific publishing venture that will provide high-quality, high-profile journal articles.
  • PubMed Central— a digital archive of life sciences journal literature managed by the U.S. National Center for Biotechnology Information at the National Library of Medicine.

Publically Available E-Books

  • Merck Manuals — a series of healthcare books for medical professionals and consumers. Texts are available in English as well as other languages.
  • Freebooks4Doctors — links to more than 500 full-text medical books online.
  • NCBI Bookshelf — a growing collection of online, searchable biomedical textbooks.

Hardin Library

Hardin Library's picture
Hardin Library
Contact:
600 Newton Rd.

Iowa City, IA 52242-1098

lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
319-335-9151
Website