African American Newspaper Collections
- African American Newspapers Series 1 and 2 This link opens in a new windowIncludes Series 1 (1827-1998) AND Series 2 (1835-1956). Part of the Readex America's Historical Newspapers collection, African American Newspapers is a record of African American history, culture, and daily life. Covers life in the Antebellum South through the Civil Rights movement and more
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
Other Newspaper collections
- Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new windowCurrent and archived information from thousands of local, regional, national, and international news sources. Find diverse perspectives on topics related to business and economics, controversial issues, criminal justice, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, science, social issues and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content. Includes the Chicago Tribune and some Iowa newspapers.
- LexisNexis Academic (now called Nexis Uni) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, TV and radio transcripts are also available. - Newspaper Source Plus This link opens in a new windowNewspaper Source Plus provides selected full text for over 200 regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, newspaper columns and other sources as well as indexing and abstracts for national newspapers. This database is updated daily.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (BETA)
http://www.loc.gov/chroniclingamerica/
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
Proquest Historical Newspapers - Black Newspapers
The Proquest Historical Newspapers offer full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Each newspaper collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Users can cross-search titles.
- Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1910 - 1975
- Atlanta Daily World, 1931-2003 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1931-2003
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1934-2005
- New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993 (Proquest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers Collection) This link opens in a new windowCoverage: 1922-1993
- Pittsburgh CourierCoverage: 1911-2002
Additional Proquest Historical Newspaper Titles
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1998 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowContains full-text access to the Chicago Tribune dating from 1849-1995.
- Detroit Free Press, 1831-1922 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1999 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe Los Angeles Times (1881-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to the New York Times from 1851 (New York Daily Times) to 2019.
- Minneapolis Star Tribune, 1867-2001 (Proquest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- St. Louis Post-Dispatch, 1874-2003 (Proquest Historical newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Wall Street Journal, 1889-2011 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe Wall Street Journal (1889-1993) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
- Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThe Washington Post (1877-2006) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.
Historical Digital Newspaper Collections
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowFull-text content and images from a range of urban and rural newspapers throughout the U.S., with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.
- African American Newspapers: The 19th CenturyComplete texts of major 19th century African American newspapers. Includes first-hand reports of events and issues of the day, as well as biographies, vital statistics, essays, editorials, poetry and prose, and advertisements.
- Brooklyn Daily Eagle OnlineThe Brooklyn Daily Eagle was published from 1841 to 1955, then revived from 1960 to 1963. Phase I, which can be found on this site, covers the period from October 26, 1841 to December 31, 1902, representing half of the Eagle's years of publication.
- Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876 This link opens in a new windowContains 66 newspaper titles from 22 islands between 1718-1876.
- Early American Newspapers, Series I, 1690-1876Includes images and full-text content from scores of historical publications. Based mainly on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" and concentrating on publication starts pre-1820.
NewsVault
- Gale NewsVault This link opens in a new windowCross-searching tool that allows users can simultaneously search or browse across multiple Gale products including: 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers; 19th Century British Library Newspapers, Parts I and II; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series I: New Readerships; 19th Century UK Periodicals, Series II: Empire; 19th Century U.S. Newspapers; Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2006; Illustrated London News Historical Archive 1842-2
British Newspapers
- 17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers This link opens in a new windowThis database consists of the British Library's collection of the newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by Reverend Charles Burney. Although the majority is published in London, there are some English provincial, Irish and Scottish papers, as well as a handful of examples from the American colonies. It includes over 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries
- 19th Century British Newspapers, (aka British Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowThis database features British newspapers from the 19th century selected by the British Library's editorial board. Many of the newspapers are available in complete runs, and all are searchable full-text.
- Times Digital Archive, 1785-2007 This link opens in a new windowResearchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching. Current issues of The