American History: Home

A guide to resources that support research in American History

New Resources

Search InfoHawk for Primary Sources

Search InfoHawk for Primary Sources




Featured Database

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 1960–1974 brings the 1960s alive through diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary. This collection is the definitive electronic resource for students and scholars researching this important period in American history, society, culture, and politics.

 

Spanning 1960 to 1974, The Sixties is centered on key themes that provide insight into the issues that shaped America and that still resonate in today’s debates: Arts, Music, and Leisure; Civil Rights; Counter-Culture; Environmental Movement; Gay and Lesbian Rights; Law and Government; Mass Media; New Left and Emerging Neo-Conservative Movement; Science and Technology; Student Activism; Vietnam War; and Women’s Movement. 

Microform Guides

Subject Guide

Janalyn Moss
Contact:
The University of Iowa Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
(319)335-5698

Archive Finder

Archive Finder including ArchivesUSA and NIDS UK/Ireland

Archive Finder is a current directory which describes over 206,200 collections of primary source material housed in thousands of repositories across the United States, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

Powerful searching integrated with detailed subject indexing helps researchers to uncover historical collections.