Skip to main content
print page banner

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Accessing Hardin Library Resources: Online Journal Articles

Contains information on how to access the Hardin Library's print and online materials

Note

Online access to Hardin Library resources and services is limited to current University of Iowa faculty/staff/students.  Members of the public are welcome to use the library's print and electronic resources from within the library.

Accessing the full-text of journal articles from within a database

The easiest way to access the full-text of a journal article from within an article database is to use the IUILink button.  It looks like this:

Icon for University of Iowa UILink

The UILink button is typically located below or to the right of the citation within the database.  When you click this button, the UILink window will open and show you what access is available. Here is an example of what you will see:

 
  • Full text available at: Taylor & Francis Medical Library
  • Available from 1997 volume: 117 issue: 1

Additional services

  • Search Library holdings
  • Ask a Librarian
  • ProQuest dissertation
  • Request this article by Interlibrary Loan / Document Delivery
  •  

Accessing online journals

If you already know the citation of the article that you want to read or just want to browse a journal, you can look up the citation in the electronic journal list or the InfoHawk Catalog.

Electronic Journal List: Contains a list of journals that the library has purchased electronic access to.  Search for the title of the journal that you are interested in, then click on the name of the journal to be taken to the full text.  If we have access through more than one source, you will be presented with the list of different sources.  Select a resource based on years covered and quality (links to the publisher typically are best) and then click the yellow "go" button.

InfoHawk Catalog: Alternatively, you can search in the InfoHawk library catalog.  InfoHawk has the advantage of showing what journals we own in print or electronic format. To begin, enter the name of the journal that you are looking for into the search box:

From the results list, click on the name of the journal.  You will be shown more information about the journal.  Under "Location," "Electronic Resource" means that we have purchased online access and "Hardin Library" (or another library name) means that we own it in print.  Click on the URL to be taken to the electronic full-text.  If we have not purchased electronic access, you can request that we copy the article from the print journal and email it to you by filling out an interlibrary loan/document delivery request.

Hardin Library

Hardin Library's picture
Hardin Library
Contact:
600 Newton Rd.

Iowa City, IA 52242-1098

lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
319-335-9151
Website