English and American Literature: General Databases

General Databases for English and American Literature

Literature Online (LION) 

A fully searchable library of over 350,000 works of English and American literature, overseen by an academic advisory board.

Specialized databases within LION are:

 

MLA International Bibliography (MLAB)

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, chapters in books, and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Literature Criticism Online 
Searchable database that provides access to the literary criticism collections Classical and Medieval Literary Criticism (CMLC), Children's Literature Review (CLR), Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC), Drama Criticism (DC), Literature Criticism from 1400-1800 (LC), Nineteenth-Century Literary Criticism (NCLC), Poetry Criticism (PC), Shakespeare Criticism (SC), Short Story Criticism (SSC), and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism (TCLC).

Critical Survey of Long Fiction 
"The Critical Survey series provides students and general readers with in-depth profiles of major authors in one of the major literary genres---in this case, long fiction (the novel, novella, and related long forms). While the profiled authors may have written in other genres as well, sometimes to great acclaim, the focus of this set is on their most important works of long fiction."

Collections Librarian

The Collection Management Librarian for English and American Literature is Stephen Sturgeon.

Email: stephen-sturgeon@uiowa.edu