Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Urban and Regional Planning: Articles

UI Libraries Resources

Smart Search

The University of Iowa Libraries
institution = University of Iowa Librariesinstitution code = UIOWA

Articles

Journals A-Z 
Includes access to all e-journals (plus newspapers) subscribed to by UI Libraries, plus a variety of free resources selected by librarians. These include a variety of government titles. Sample: Journal of the American Planning Association. Access is facilitated in the library catalog by the yellow InfoLink Button buttons.

Academic Search Elite Restricted Resource
This multi-disciplinary database offers full text for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals, including more than 1,500 peer-reviewed titles.

Access World News Restricted Resource
Local newspaper articles from around the World and around the US, translated into English.

Business Source CompleteRestricted Resource
Includes full-text and indexing of a variety of magazines, journals, newspapers and newsletters. Company and industry profiles,as well as country and market research reports may be of interest to those investigating economic dimensions of planning.

CQ Electronic LibraryRestricted Resource
Collection of articles written by Congressional Quarterly experts that addres public policy questions, including many of interest to planning students. (transportation, land use and development, climate and environment, energy, housing, etc.)

EconLit Restricted Resource
Source material in this database includes journal articles, essays, research papers, books, dissertations, book reviews, and working papers. Contains more than 610,000 records covering 1969-present. The subjects covered within EconLit include accounting, consumer economics, monetary policy, labor, marketing, demographics, modeling, economic theory, planning, and much more.

Employment Research. A W.E. Upjohn Institute publication.

GreenFILE  Icon 
Freely accessible research database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment, with well-researched but accessible information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond.

Ingenta Select
Offers over 800 journals online, with most current issues provided in full-text. Includes many planning journals

JSTOR (Journal Storage)  Restricted Resource
View
list of journal titles available from JSTOR. Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, philosophy, mathematics and other fields of the humanities and social sciences. Consult the online tables of contents for holdings, as coverage varies for each title. Note that this database contains ONLY back issues. Journals may be searched across multiple titles as well as by the individual titles below. The JSTOR database does NOT include full-text of the most recent 3 to 5 years.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal research, medical and reference information. The news section provides access to full text of newspapers from the U.S., Europe, Africa, North and South America and Australia in English, as well as some in Dutch, French, German, Italian and Spanish; news wires, television and radio transcripts are also available.

Local Newspapers Guide

PAIS International Restricted Resource
PAIS International covers the literature of public affairs including political, economic and social issues. PAIS International contains references to articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, research reports, conference reports and publications of international agencies. Publications from more than 60 countries are included.

Urban Studies Abstracts Restricted Resource - UI Access Only
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. The index contains 40,000 records, which are carefully selected from the most important sources within the discipline, such as: Urban Affairs Review, Urban studies, Journal of Urban Affairs, etc. EBSCO has digitized the full archive of this index, bringing coverage back to 1973.

Contact Me

Brett Cloyd's picture
Brett Cloyd
Contact:
Main Library
319.335.5743
Website