Skip to main content
print page banner

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

Citing Sources: EndNote Desktop FAQ

RefWorks, EndNote and more.

Frequently Asked Questions about EndNote Desktop

How do I transfer references from RefWorks to EndNote Desktop?

http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/services/refworkstoendnotedesktop/

Can I download EndNote Desktop at no charge to myself?

  1. Are you a faculty, staff, graduate student, or professional student? Yes. 
  2. Are you an undergraduat student? No. You can use EndNote Basic for free, but  you would have to purchase EndNote Desktop from the bookstore. 

What should I do if EndNote asks me for a license key?

You may need to uninstall EndNote and reinstall it from the ITS website. See http://its.uiowa.edu/campus-software-program/endnote for more information.

I used Microsoft Word's citation feature, but now I'd rather use EndNote. Is there a way to move my references?

If you have used the citation feature that is built into Word correctly—EN will translate the references to EN format so that others can import citations, and also allowing formatting in different  style.

To do this, open Word document ->  EN tab -> export to EN-> export Word citations.  Your cursor needs to be outside of the references or field codes for this to work. You can even update the citation style if you convert citations to EN format.  Select the convert citations and bibliography button -> Convert Word citations to EN. Under track changes, the no mark up view needs to be selected in order for this to work.

What if EndNote doesn't have the style I need for this paper/article?

There are many citation styles listed on the EndNote.com website. Click on "Downloads" and then search for the style you need. If you find the style, open it. It should open in EndNote. Then, click file -> save as to save it to your EndNote program. You should be able to use it from now on.

If the style you need is not listed, you may need to create a custom style. You can contact a librarian for assistance with this process or follow the instructions from EndNote on modifying output styles.

How can I attach a PDF to my reference?

  1. Right click on a reference and select File Attachments and then Attach File.
  2. Select the file that you want to attach. By default, EndNote will copy the file to the EndNote library folder and link to this copy. This ensures that the file is always accessible. The check-box at the bottom of the page will disable this feature.
    – To open the file, right click on the reference, select File Attachments and then Open File.

How can I get the full text for a record in EndNote?

  1. From the Edit menu, select Preferences
  2. Click on URLS and Links
  3. Paste the following into the box labeled ISI Base URL: http://proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/login?url=http://gateway.isiknowledge.com/gateway/Gateway.cgi
  4. You can now click OK.
  5. To use UI Link, click on a record, then go to the References menu and select URL and then OpenURL Link. Use UI Link to find full text, or to launch an interlibrary loan request, if the item is not available electronically. 

How can I make EndNote automatically convert abbreviated journal names to full journal names?

  1. Start with a new library. Contact us if you want to make the change to an existing library.
  2. From the Tools menu, select Define Term Lists, then click on Journals.
  3. Click Import List, and then navigate to the folder where you installed EndNote (usually C:/Program Files/EndNote) and open the Term Lists folder.
  4. Double click on Medical.txt. EndNote will add ~9000 journal names and abbreviations to your library.This will not change how your journal names appear within EndNote. When you format your bibliography, however, EndNote will switch between abbreviated and full names as required by the style.

What do I do when EndNote is using the wrong abbreviated journal name even though I installed my terms list?

First, try deleting your journal terms list and reinstalling it to see if that solves the problem. 

  1. From the Tools menu, select Define Term Lists, then click on Journals.
  2. On the right, click on Delete List.
  3. Now, click on Create List.
  4. Name the list Journals and make sure you check the box that says Journal List.
  5. Click on Journals.
  6. Click Import List, and then navigate to the folder where you installed EndNote (usually C:/Program Files/EndNote) and open the Term Lists folder.
  7. Double click on Medical.txt. EndNote will add ~9000 journal names and abbreviations to your library.This will not change how your journal

If that does not solve the problem, you may need to manually edit your terms list.

  1. From the Tools menu, select Open Term Lists, then click on Journals.
  2. Make the box larger so you can see the journal names and abbreviations.
  3. Find the journal that is not working correctly and click on it.
  4. Now, click on Edit Term.
  5. You can now enter the information manually.

How can I find full text?
EndNote will attempt to locate the full text (PDF or HTML) of articles in your library. Full text availability is limited to journals to which the UI Libraries subscribe electronically and for which full text is available.

To set up Find Full Text:

  1. From the Edit menu, select Preferences.
  2. Click on Find Full Text.
  3. In the Open URL Path box, enter http://uilink.lib.uiowa.edu/view/uresolver/01IOWA_INST/openurl
  4. If you are using EndNote from off-campus, you will need to enter https://login.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/​ beside the box labeled Authentication URL.

 

To find full-text:

  1. Select the desired references in your EndNote Library.
  2. Right click and then select Find Full Text from the pop-up menu.
  3. Click OK on the copyright notice. EndNote will begin looking for full-text and will track its progress in the blue side panel.
  4. When EndNote finds a PDF, a paperclip appears in the attachment column, and the PDF appears in the File Attachments field of the reference.
  5. Click on the PDF to open the article. PDFs are stored in the Endnote library's .data file, in a folder called PDF.
  6. If EndNote can only find an HTML version of the article, a link to that version appears in the reference's URL field.