Skip to main content
print page banner

The University of Iowa Libraries

Hardin Library for the Health Sciences

History of the Health Sciences -- Resource Guide: Resources in Special Collections

This site provides an introduction to resources used in research dealing with the history of medicine and other health sciences.

Health Science History Resources at Special Collections Locations (alphabetical by subject)

 

Agricultural Medicine

 

Grant White
Agricultural Medicine; Tuberculosis in cattle
Special Collections - MsC0046

Pete Knapp Papers
Agricultural Medicine; University Administration
University Archives - RG99.0333

Cancer

 

Louise Goldman papers
Breast Cancer
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0307​

Judy Klemensrud papers
Cancer
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0094

Hazel Beck Andre papers
Cancer
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0049​

Patricia Filipowska papers
Cancer
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0147

Civil War Medicine

 

Myron Underwood
Civil War Medicine
Special Collections - MsC0027

Bean Family Papers
Civil War Medicine; Medicine; Early Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0452​

Silas B. Silver Diary
Civil War Medicine
Special Collections - MsC0012​

 

Dentistry

 

Ben C. Philips Papers
Dentistry
Special Collections - MsC0071​

Ludwig Unglenk Papers
Dentistry
Special Collections - MsC1044

Dermatology

 

Richard M. Caplan Papers
Dermatology; University Administration
University Archives - RG99.0270

 

Disabilities

 

Archie L. Green papers
Disabilities
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0296

Judy Herron Hoit papers
Disabilities
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0373

Early Iowa Physicians

 

Augustus Sinning Papers
Early Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0391

(Edwin) Lee Allen Card Paintings
Early Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0803​

Harry Harper Papers
Early Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0365​

Donovan Ward Papers
Early Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0397​

Fox Family Papers
Early Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0449

 

Gerontology

 

Institute of Gerontology Records
Gerontology
University Archives - RG27.0016.001

 

JFK Assassination

 

Earl F. Rose Papers on the Assasination of JFK
Iowa Physician
Special Collections - MsC0860

 

Medicine

 

Marjorie Vandervelde papers
Medicine
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0375

William Osler Collection of Medical Material
Medicine
Special Collections - MsC0804

Midwifery

 

The Des Moines BirthPlace papers

Women in the Health Sciences; Midwifery
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0195

Sarah C. Taylor papers
Women in the Health Sciences; Midwifery
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0140

Near-Death Experience

 

Mary Elizabeth Wood papers
Near-Death Experience
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0262

 

Neurosurgery

 

John Martin M.D. Ph.D. Papers
Neurosurgery; University Administration
Special Collections - MsC0501

 

Nursing

 

Arlene Jens papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0499

Barbara Fassbinder Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0410

Barbara M. Calderon Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0247

Cheryl Britton Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0873

Cora Call Whitley Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0154

Des Moines Birthplace records
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0195

Eva Erickson Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0922


Evelyn Crary Bacon Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0012

Geraldene Felton Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0330

Grace Patten Papers
Nursing; Midwifery
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0475

Her Own Story: Ten Benton County Women oral histories
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0134

Iowa League for Nursing records
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0580

Iowa Nurses Association records
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0023

Iowa Nurses Association Fifth District records
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0015

Jean Shoots Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0308

Kay Hata oral history
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives 

Louise Liers Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0570

Lucille Ketchum Carter Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0131

 

 

Margaret Langland Johnson Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0816

Marie Schultz Meyer Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0121

Marie Tener Havel Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0336

Marjorie Elizabeth Lyford Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0051


Marjorie Jean Bertalot Block Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0385

Martha Eimen Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0218

Mary Patricia Donahue Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0512

Mary Ungerer Hauth Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0190

Mavis Stoner Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0428


Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0036

Neta Andrews Papers
Nursing
​Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0586

Ruth Hager Cousin Papers
Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0522

Ruth Salzmann Becker Papers

Nursing
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0123

Carlyle Jacobsen Papers
Nursing; University Administration
University Archives - RG99.0021

Nursing Service Department Records
Nursing; Women in the Health Sciences
University Archives - RG27.0006.001

Teresa E. Christy Papers
Nursing; Women in the Health Sciences
University Archives - RG99.0292

College of Nursing Records
Nursing; Women in the Health Sciences
University Archives - RG16.0001.001

Shelton Family Papers
Nursing; Women in the Health Sciences
Special Collections - MsC0007

 

Nutrition

 

Eva Donelson Wilson papers
Nutrition
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0355

Margaret Conner papers
Nutrition
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0598

Floy Eugenia Whitehead papers
Nutrition
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0037

 

Occupational Therapy

 

Wanda Edgerton papers
Occupational Therapy
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0603

 

Pediatric and Child Wellness

 

Ralph H. Ojemann Papers
Pediatric and Child Wellness
University Archives - RG99.0310

 

Phlebotomy

 

Robert C. Hardin Papers
Phlebotomy
University Archives - RG99.0277

 

Polio

 

Barbara Burrell Nichols papers
Polio
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0668

 

Psychology

 

Arlene Morris papers
Psychology
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0276

George T.W. Patrick Papers
Psychology
University Archives - RG99.0137

Dr. Kenneth J. Hartman Papers
Psychology
Special Collections - MsC0876

Norman C. Meier Papers
Psychology
University Archives - RG99.0163

Dewey B. Stuit Papers
Psychology
University Archives - RG99.0024

I. Gormezano Papers
Psychology
University Archives - RG99.0161

Mary McDermott Shideler papers
Psychology
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0404

T. Anne Cleary papers
Psychology
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0200

Smallpox

 

Alice Sophia Brant papers
Smallpox
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0170

 

Speech Pathology

 

Dorothy Moeller
Speech Pathology
Special Collections - MsC0869

 

Suicide

 

Ida Bandfield Holden papers
Suicide
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0062

 

Tuberculosis

 

[C] Everett Turling Letters from Oakdale Sanatorium
Tuberculosis
Special Collections - MsC0971

Gladys Homan papers
Tuberculosis
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0261

University Administration

 

C.P. Howard Papers
University Administration
University Archives - RG99.0334

Myrtle Kitchell Aydelotte papers
University Administration
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0036​

Women in the Health Sciences

 

Geraldene Felton papers
Women in the Health Sciences
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0330

Zella White Stewart papers
Women in the Health Sciences; Allergies
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0683

The Des Moines BirthPlace papers

Women in the Health Sciences; Midwifery
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0195

Sarah C. Taylor papers
Women in the Health Sciences; Midwifery
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0140

Carol Hodne papers
Women in the Health Sciences; Women's Health
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0488

Sister Irene Muñoz papers
Women in the Health Sciences; Women's Health
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0923

Emma Goldman Clinic (Iowa City, Iowa) records
Women's Health
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0466

World War II Medicine

 

Edward S. Perkins World War II Letters
WWII Medicine
Special Collections - MsC0951

Pauline Lyon papers
WWII Medicine; Women in the Health Sciences
Iowa Women's Archives - IWA0202