About Finding Articles and Evidence
All of the resources listed on this page are either freely available or are available through subscriptions (marked with lock icon). If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a resource to add, please contact the guide owner.
The databases listed on this page are excellent places to start a literature search. Please schedule a consultation iif you need help finding, organizing, or formatting references.
For most of the databases listed, look for the UI Link button in your results, and select it to view full text options.
About UI Library Resources
All of the resources listed on this page are either freely available or are available through subscriptions (marked with lock icon). If you are off-campus, you may be prompted to sign in with hawk id and password.
If you experience any difficulty with access or would like to recommend a resource to add, please contact the guide owner.
Jennifer DeBerg
Hardin Library Reference Desk
Please contact the Hardin Library reference desk when immediate help is needed:
Ph: 319-335-9151 email:lib-hardin@uiowa.edu
Guide to Searching
- PICO WorksheetA tool to help with structuring question into PICO format and with generating search terms
- Searching Guide for Health SciencesContains suggestions on which resources to consult by question type, along with general principles to keep in mind when searching health sciences resources.
Important Databases for Nursing
- CINAHL This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CINAHL provides indexing for 3,024 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, with indexing back to 1937. - Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowA collection of databases important for evidence-based practice. This includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, a full text collection of high quality systematic reviews.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed, provided by the National Library of Medicine, contains over 17 million citations covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences.
Other Databases
- ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window Search nearly 2,8900 premier worldwide business periodicals for information on business conditions, management techniques, business trends, management practice and theory, corporate strategy and tactics, and competitive landscape.
- AgeLine This link opens in a new window Provides coverage of social gerontology. Also covered are the delivery of health care to the older population and its associated costs and policies, and consumer, employment, and public policy issues.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
- This link opens in a new window
- Counseling and Therapy in Video This link opens in a new window Provides the online collection of video available for the study of social work, psychotherapy, psychology, and psychiatric counseling--400 hours and more than 330 videos on completion.
- Embase This link opens in a new window A large database contains records with abstracts from 1974-present. Compared with PubMed, it contains expanded coverage of international journals. Sometimes called the “European MEDLINE,” it is an important resource for supporting evidence-based medicine, the creation of systematic reviews, and, particularly, pharmacology-related information.
- ERIC (EBSCOhost version) This link opens in a new window ERIC focuses on journal and non-journal education-related topics.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window A great beginning research tool: it is a broad multi disciplinary search engine that will likely find many scholarly works, including journal articles, theses and books from academic publishers, repositories, academic institutions. Advanced search tool is recommended to improve precision and relevance or results.
- Healthcare Videos from Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window Collection of videos, including documentaries, profiles, reports, and interviews designed for use by students, instructors, and the general population to better understand the realities of illness, wellness, and the modern healthcare system.
- Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HAPI) This link opens in a new window Provides access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/manuals, rating scales, and tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window Provides nearly 550 scholarly full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Compared with CINAHL, this database has more coverage of trade publications.
- Journal Citation Reports or JCR Web This link opens in a new window A comprehensive resource for journal evaluation, ISI's Journal Citation Reports uses citation data drawn from over 7,600 scholarly and technical journals worldwide. Journal impact factors can be found here.
- Native Health Research Database This database contains bibliographic information and abstracts of health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations.
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global (PQDT Global) This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new window The PsycINFO database covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, and other areas.
- SafetyLit Freely available database containing summaries of "scholarly" reports and journal articles (over 100,000 items) about injury occurrence and risk factors.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Large multi-disciplinary citation database, which offers sophisticated tools to track, analyze, and visualize research patterns.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window Indexes and abstracts current research (articles are from 1980 to the present) in social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Major areas of coverage include community and mental health services; crisis intervention; evaluation research; the family and social welfare; gerontology; policy, planning and forecasting; poverty and homelessness; professional issues in social work; social development; social work education; support groups/networks; violence, abuse and neglect; and welfare services. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window [Help Searching Web of Science]A citation reference that includes Science Citation Index (1900-present), Social Science Citation Index (1900-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Book Citation Index- Science (2005-present), Book Citation Index- Social Sciences & Humanities (2005-present), and Medline, and links to Journal Citation Reports and EndNote web version. If you experience trouble connecting to WoS from off-campus, try clearing your cache or changing browsers. Firefox seems to be best for this.
EBP Learning Resources
- Evidence-Based Practice Tutorial Created by University of Minnesota Library system, this is an interactive web based tutorial that aims toenhance understanding of formulating appropriate questions, selecting appropriate resources, and applying evidence.
- JAMAevidence This link opens in a new window Includes text of two books, education guides, glossary, calculators, worksheets, question wizards, weekly RSS feed of featured JAMA articles, compiled clinical scenarios, podcasts, more.
