1. Please access Micromedex via the Hardin Library Website: http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/micromedex.
2. Click on "Download Mobile Apps" on the bottom right of the screen under the "Resources" section.
3. Follow the instructions/code for the app you want.
Note: After entering the password, the app will work for the duration of the quarter. At the end of the quarter, you will need to return to this site and obtain a new password. It should be noted that Micromedex loads files to your device and will work without an internet connection. However, you will need to make sure that Micromedex updates are loaded before using to ensure you have the latest information.
1. Access Dynamed Plus in a browser at http://purl.lib.uiowa.edu/ebsco/dynamed.
2. Create an account by clicking on "sign-in/create an account"on the top of the screen. This works best at a desktop computer.
2. Go to the App Store, Google Store, or similar service to download apps.
3. Search for Dynamed Plus. Be careful, as there are mutliple Dynamed apps. Download the app and install it on your device.
4. Sign into the app with your Dynamed Plus account.
AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult. Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download PDFs. This resource is not compatible with Internet Explorer. If using Internet Explorer, add ClinicalKey to trusted sites.
Contains the Micromedex databases: POISINDEX, DRUGDEX, EMERGINDEX, PDR, Martindale, TOMES, and Drug-Reax, and Tomes, and the drug information tools: Martindales, PDR, Material safety data sheets prepared by the U.S. Pharmacopeial Convention, and Index nominum.
Provides drug monographs and formulary information including dosing, pill identification, contraindications, interactions, and adverse reactions. This is a free resource but registration is required to access some features. Other features require an individual subscription. Mobile version (Epoctrates Rx) is available. Students can contact Epocrates at 1-800-230-2150 for information on discounts for individual subscriptions.
Use this gateway for selected drug information on over 15,000 drugs from U.S. Government agencies spanning the time they are entered into clinical trials (Clinicaltrials.gov) through their entry in the U.S. market place (Drugs@FDA).
This e-book contains all monographs published by Commission E between 1983 and 1995, including all revisions (incorporated into the monographs). It also includes extensive indexes of therapeutic data (uses, contraindications, side effects, drug interactions, etc.), plus chemical and taxonomic cross-references (English, Latin, German, and pharmacopeial names), excerpts from European regulatory literature, glossary of terms, and general index.
From National Institutes of Health (NIH). Offers information from the labels of over 2,000 brands of dietary supplements in the marketplace, including vitamins, minerals, herbs or other botanicals, amino acids, and other specialty supplements.
The natural product content is adapted from The Review of Natural Products, a Facts & Comparisons online database. Each monograph includes a Clinical Overview section and then additional in-depth fields that provide a detailed discussion of the use, dosing, adverse reactions, and interactions of each herbal product.
This book updates 107 of the Commission E monographs and expands them to include in-depth overviews, clinical research, extensive references, and additional information on dosage, administration, chemistry, and pharmacology. Arranged alphabetically by herb.
Previously Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS), this database is now a subset of PubMed. It is essentially a "limit" on the PubMed database that allows users to limit the 20 million+ citations in PubMed to those that are dietary supplement-related (just over 400,000 at this time).