Psychiatry Textbooks
- PsychiatryOnline This link opens in a new windowPsychiatryOnline is a website that features DSM-5-TR, including updates and The American Journal of Psychiatry as the cornerstones of a collection of psychiatric references, including books, journals, and self-assessment tools. PsychiatryOnline features sophisticated searching and indexing tools that enable users to quickly target all the information needed
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5-TR by
"DSM-5-TR includes fully revised text and references, updated diagnostic criteria and ICD-10-CM codes since DSM-5 was published in 2013. It features a new disorder, prolonged grief disorder, as well as codes for suicidal behavior available to all clinicians of any discipline without the requirement of any other diagnosis. With contributions from over 200 subject matter experts, this updated volume boasts the most current text updates based on the scientific literature. Now in four-color and with the ability to authenticate each printed copy, DSM-5-TR provides a cohesive, updated presentation of criteria, diagnostic codes, and text. This latest volume offers a common language for clinicians involved in the diagnosis and study of mental disorders and facilitates an objective assessment of symptom presentations across a variety of clinical settings-inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. Important updates in DSM-5-TR include 1) fully revised text for each disorder with updated sections on associated features, prevalence, development and course, risk and prognostic factors, culture, diagnostic markers, suicide, differential diagnosis, and more; 2) addition of prolonged grief disorder (PGD) to Section II; 3) over 70 modified criteria sets with helpful clarifications since publication of DSM-5; 4) fully updated Introduction and Use of the Manual to guide usage and provide context for important terminology; 5) considerations of the impact of racism and discrimination on mental disorders integrated into the text; 6) new codes to flag and monitor suicidal behavior, available to all clinicians of any discipline and without the requirement of any other diagnosis; 7) fully updated ICD-10-CM codes implemented since 2013, including over 50 coding updates new to DSM-5-TR for substance intoxication and withdrawal and other disorders"-- Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 0890425787Publication Date: 2022
Addiction Medicine by
Integrating scientific knowledge with today's most effective treatment options, Addiction Medicine: Science and Practice, 2nd Edition, provides a wealth of information on addictions to substances and behavioral addictions. It discusses the concrete research on how the brain and body are affected by addictions, improving your understanding of how patients develop addictions and how best to personalize treatment and improve outcomes. This essential text is ideal for anyone who deals with patients with addictions in clinical practice, including psychiatrists, health psychologists, pharmacologists, social workers, drug counselors, trainees, and general physicians/family practitioners. Clearly explains the role of brain function in drug taking and other habit-forming behaviors, and shows how to apply this biobehavioral framework to the delivery of evidence-based treatment. Provides clinically relevant details on not only traditional sources of addiction such as cocaine, opiates, and alcohol, but also more recently recognized substances of abuse (e.g., steroids, inhalants) as well as behavioral addictions (e.g., binge eating, compulsive gambling, hoarding). Discusses current behavioral and medical therapies in depth, while also addressing social contexts that may affect personalized treatment. Contains new information on compliance-enhancing interventions, cognitive behavioral treatments, behavioral management, and other psychosocial interventions. Includes neurobiological, molecular, and behavioral theories of addiction, and includes a section on epigenetics. Contains up-to-date information throughout, including a new definition of status epilepticus, a current overview of Lennox Gastaut syndrome, and updates on new FDA-approved drugs for pediatric neurological disorders. Features expanded sections on evidence-based treatment options including pharmacotherapy, pharmacogenetics, and potential vaccines. Addresses addiction in regards to specific populations, including adolescents, geriatric, pregnant women, and health care professionals. Includes contributions from expert international authors, making this a truly global reference to addiction medicine. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.
ISBN: 9780323754408Publication Date: 2020
Handbook of Clinical Rating Scales and Assessment in Psychiatry and Mental Health by ISBN: 9781588299666Publication Date: 2009
Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry by
Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022! Accurate, reliable, objective, and comprehensive, Kaplan & Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry has long been the leading clinical psychiatric resource for clinicians, residents, students, and other health care professionals both in the US and worldwide. Now led by a new editorial team of Drs. Robert Boland and Marcia L. Verduin, it continues to offer a trusted overview of the entire field of psychiatry while bringing you up to date with current information on key topics and developments in this complex specialty. The twelfth edition has been completely reorganized to make it more useful and easier to navigate in today's busy clinical settings. A revised table of contents moves the most clinically relevant material to the beginning of the book, including sections on diagnosis, psychopathology and psychiatric conditions, treatment across the lifespan, and therapy and other interventions. Reformats clinical chapters to include clearer section headings and easy-to-digest summaries of important information, all with the goal of helping you find information quickly and easily locate answers to specific problems. Includes numerous case studies to enhance the learning experience. Presents the most current treatment methods including descriptions of all modern psychotherapeutic techniques. Includes descriptive tables for all relevant DSM-5 and ICD-10 diagnoses and an up-to-date psychopharmacology section organized according to mechanisms of action. Carries on the tradition of excellence established by Drs. Benjamin J. Sadock and Virginia A. Sadock, Dr. Pedro Ruiz as Consulting Editors.
ISBN: 9781975145569Publication Date: 2022
Massachusetts General Hospital Handbook of General Hospital Psychiatry by ISBN: 9780323484114Publication Date: 2017
Psychotic Disorders: A Practical Guide by
This book provides clear and concise guidance for clinicians when they encounter a patient with psychosis, starting with the medical work-up to arrive at a diagnosis and ending with the comprehensive care for patients with established schizophrenia. It covers the optimal use of medications (emphasizing safe use) but also addresses other treatment approaches (psychological treatments, rehabilitation) and the larger societal context of care, including how to work effectively in complex systems. It uniquely condenses the literature into teaching points without simplifying too much, effectively serving as a learning tool for trainees and professionals. For this second edition, the book was extensively updated and its content expanded, with new figures as well. Each chapter begins with an initial summary and includes Tips and Key Points in text boxes. Each chapter also includes links to external websites and additional readings. The book contains clinical and practical wisdom for clinicians who are treating real patients at the front lines, setting it apart from all other texts. Psychotic Disorders is an excellent resource for medical students, early career professionals such as trainees and fellows, and related clinicians seeking additional training and resources, including those in psychiatry, psychology, neurology, and all others.
ISBN: 9783030294502Publication Date: 2020
Hardin Library Help
Mary Thomas
Mary Margaret Thomas
she/her/hers
Contact:
207A HLHS
Hardin Library for Health Sciences
Hardin Library for Health Sciences
(319) 467-0722