The Collection, Office Delivery, E-Books
|
New Business Library books, software, etc. appear on the list below. The newest materials are at the start of the list. You can find new books on a display near the information desk. Students and staff can also request that items be sent to a University office or Library:
|
![]() |
Read books online too!
| Books 24x7 | These online books focus on business and computer science. |
| EBSCOhost eBooks | This collection includes books on business, economics, and computer science. |
| E-Book Collections | This page displays a complete list of Library e-book collections. |
What's popular? See "Books Recently Returned" in Business Library News.
Subscribe to the new books feed.
New Books, Etc.
Web analytics action hero : using analysis to gain insight and optimize your business - Brent Dykes
Call Number: HF5415.1265 .D95 2012
ISBN: 032179401X
In this book, web analytics expert Brent Dykes addresses the unique challenges facing analysts and online marketers working within small and large companies, teaching you how to move beyond reporting and toward analysis to drive action and change. Taking a principle-based rather than a tool-specific approach, Brent introduces you to the Action Hero Framework that breaks down the analysis process into three key stages: Prioritize (what to analyze), Analyze (how to analyze), and Mobilize (how to drive action). And he reinforces these topics with real-world examples and practical tips from seasoned analysts at leading companies. - Book description
Guardians of finance : making regulators work for us - James R. Barth, Gerard Caprio, Jr., and Ross Levine
Call Number: HB3722 .B374 2012
ISBN: 9780262017398
In Guardians of Finance, economists James Barth, Gerard Caprio, and Ross Levine argue that the financial meltdown of 2007 to 2009 was no accident; it was negligent homicide. They show that senior regulatory officials around the world knew or should have known that their policies were destabilizing the global financial system, had years to process the evidence that risks were rising, had the authority to change their policies--and yet chose not to act until the crisis had fully emerged.... Barth, Caprio, and Levine propose a reform to counter this systemic failure: the establishment of a "Sentinel" to provide an informed, expert, and independent assessment of financial regulation. Its sole power would be to demand information and to evaluate it from the perspective of the public--rather than that of the financial industry, the regulators, or politicians. - Book description
Virtuous leaders : strategy, character, and influence in the 21st century - Richard R. Kilburg
Call Number: HD57.7 .K524 2012
ISBN: 1433810964
In these trying times, how can executives and other business, government, and nonprofit leaders guide their organizations to success amid the challenges of the modern world? In this extensively researched yet thoroughly practical book, renowned executive consultant Richard Kilburg characterizes effective leadership as a combination of specific behaviorally based competencies and virtuous aspects of character. He demonstrates that despite all the complexities of the modern world, the foundations of executive leadership can still be found in the timeless and enduring virtues of the ancient Chinese and Greeks. - Book description
The predictable surprise : the unraveling of the U.S. retirement system - Sylvester J. Schieber
Call Number: HD7125 .S327 2012
ISBN: 0199890951
This book explains how we have gotten into the retirement predicament and where we can go from here. Schieber, a renowned authority on this topic, provides a compact, insightful history of Social Security, pension plans, and other retirement options, highlighting both their original justifications and the point when things began to go wrong. He brings his discussion right up to the present morass and concludes with suggestions as to how we can reform our retirement system. Our situation is not hopeless, Schieber concludes, if we take on some of these issues and resolve them. If we do not, we will severely jeopardize the prosperity of younger generations. - Book description
Tax and spend : the welfare state, tax politics, and the limits of American liberalism - Molly Michelmore
Call Number: HJ2381 .M46 2012
ISBN: 0812243889
Taxes dominate contemporary American politics. Yet while many rail against big government, few Americans are prepared to give up the benefits they receive from the state. In Tax and Spend, historian Molly C. Michelmore examines an unexpected source of this contradiction and shows why many Americans have come to hate government but continue to demand the security it provides. - Book description
Finance and the good society - Robert J. Shiller
Call Number: HG171 .S52 2012
ISBN: 0691154880
The reputation of the financial industry could hardly be worse than it is today in the painful aftermath of the 2008 financial crisis. New York Times best-selling economist Robert Shiller is no apologist for the sins of finance--he is probably the only person to have predicted both the stock market bubble of 2000 and the real estate bubble that led up to the subprime mortgage meltdown. But in this important and timely book, Shiller argues that, rather than condemning finance, we need to reclaim it for the common good. He makes a powerful case for recognizing that finance, far from being a parasite on society, is one of the most powerful tools we have for solving our common problems and increasing the general well-being. - Book description
Reinventing fire : bold business solutions for the new energy era - Amory B. Lovins and Rocky Mountain Institute
Call Number: HD9502.U52 L674 2011
ISBN: 1603583718
That richer, fairer, cooler, safer world is possible, practical, even profitable-because saving and replacing fossil fuels now works better and costs no more than buying and burning them. Reinventing Fire shows how business-motivated by profit, supported by civil society, sped by smart policy-can get the US completely off oil and coal by 2050, and later beyond natural gas as well. Authored by a world leader on energy and innovation, the book maps a robust path for integrating real, here-and-now, comprehensive energy solutions in four industries-transportation, buildings, electricity, and manufacturing-melding radically efficient energy use with reliable, secure, renewable energy supplies. - Book description
Once upon a car : the fall and resurrection of America’s big three auto makers--GM, Ford, and Chrysler - Bill Vlasic
Call Number: 710.U52 V53 2011
ISBN: 0061845620
Once Upon a Car is the brilliantly reported inside-the-boardrooms-and-factories story of Detroit’s fight for survival, going beyond the headlines to chronicle how the country’s Big Three auto companies—General Motors, Ford, and Chrysler—teetered on the brink of collapse during the 2008 financial crisis. In a tale that reads like a corporate thriller, Bill Vlasic, who has covered the auto industry for more than fifteen years, first for the Detroit News and now for the New York Times, takes readers into the executive offices, assembly plants, and union halls to introduce a cast of memorable characters.... - Book description
Corporate social responsibility and business performance : theories and evidence about organizational responsibility - Tobias Gössling
Call Number: HD60 .G677 2011
ISBN: 0857932373
Does it pay for businesses to act morally? This book attempts to answer this question. Taking a positive approach, it demonstrates that, under certain conditions, organizations can act responsibly and profitably at the same time. It elaborates on these conditions and provides evidence for the assumed positive relation between responsibility and profitability. The author uses analysis of the acceptance of corporate social responsibility (CSR) policies across Europe, the consequences of CSR on motivation, commitment and absenteeism, and organizational responsibility and the bottom of the pyramid as evidence that organizations can be profitable and responsible at the same time. - Book description
The tanning of America : how hip-hop created a culture that rewrote the rules of the new economy - Steve Stoute with Mim Eichler Rivas
Call Number: HF5415.1 .S76 2011
ISBN: 1592404812
... Stoute has helped identify and activate a new generation of consumers. He traces how the "tanning" phenomenon raised a generation of black, Hispanic, white, and Asian consumers who have the same "mental complexion" based on shared experiences and values. This consumer is a mindset-not a race or age-that responds to shared values and experiences, rather than the increasingly irrelevant demographic boxes that have been used to a fault by corporate America. And Stoute believes there is a language gap that must be bridged in order to engage the most powerful market force in the history of commerce. - Book description
Entrepreneurship and global competitiveness in regional economies : determinants and policy implications - edited by Gary D. Libecap, Sherry Hoskinson
Call Number: HB615 .A38 v.22
ISBN: 1780523947
This volume, comprised of authors from the U.S., Canada, Africa, and Europe, centers on the development, transformation, and role of geographic /regional economies-- specifically in the globalized, post-2009 era. The authors address topics that every region must consider in responding to idea age, globally competitive, regionally driven economies. The volume builds on a large body of scholarship specific to regional economic development and geography by providing a much needed post-2009 perspective on regional economic environments and activities. - Book description
Birth of a market : the U.S. Treasury securities market from the Great War to the Great Depression - Garbade, Kenneth D.
Call Number: HG4715 .G37 2012
ISBN: 0262016370
In Birth of a Market, Kenneth Garbade traces the development of the Treasury market from a financial backwater in the years before World War I to a multibillion dollar market on the eve of World War II. Garbade focuses on Treasury debt management policies, describing the origins of several pillars of modern Treasury practice, including "regular and predictable" auction offerings and the integration of debt and cash management. He recounts the actions of Secretaries of the Treasury, from William McAdoo in the Wilson administration to Henry Morgenthau in the Roosevelt administration, and their responses to economic conditions. - Book description
Todd DeGraff |
Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Library Assistant |












Loading...
