- American National Biography Online
Biographical dictionary of notable American men and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive. Includes illustrations and links to other web resources.
- AskART: The Artists Bluebook
A database of information about American artists, including names, birth and death dates, state or local affiliation, fields in which artist worked, book and periodical references to artist, dealers and museums where works may be viewed, auction prices of works, some biographical details, etc.
- Biographical Dictionary of Iowa
- Biography and Genealogy Master Index
A consolidated index to biographical sketches in current and retrospective biographical dictionaries.
- Contemporary Authors
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
- CQ Electronic Library
CQ Electronic Library (CQPress.com) is an extensive reference resource comprised of 16 separate modules--each with its own focus--for researching American government, politics, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes the CQ Almanac, CQ Global Reseacher, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Weekly, CQ Congress, CQ Public Affairs, CQ Supreme Court, CQ Voting and Elections, CQ Encyclopedia of American Government, CQ Congress and the Nation, CQ Historic Document Series, CQ Political Handbook of the World, CQ's Politics in America, CQ Supreme Court Yearbook, CQ Vital Statistics on American Politics, and CQ Washington Information Directory.
- Dictionary of Irish Biography
A comprehensive and authoritative biographical dictionary for Ireland. It contains over 9,000 signed biographical articles describing the careers of individuals in all fields of endeavour, including politics, law, religion, literature, journalism, architecture, painting, music, the stage, science, medicine, engineering, entertainment and sport.
- Dictionary of Literary Biography
Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.Comprised of Dictionary of literary biography series, Dictionary of literary biography yearbook, and Dictionary of literary biography. Documentary series.
- Italian Women Writers
Bio-bibliographical information on Italian women writers, with a growing full-text collection.
- North American Indian Thought and Culture
A compilation of biographical information on indigenous peoples from all areas of North America. When complete, the database will include 100,000 pages of content, including biographies, autobiographies, oral histories, reference works, manuscripts, and photographs, presenting the life stories of American Indians and Canadian First Peoples in their own words and through the words of others. Coverage: 1677 to present.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
Oxford DNB is a collection of 55,000 specially written biographies, which describe the lives of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond.
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History, edited by Bonnie G. Smith, captures the experiences of women throughout history in a far-reaching, four-volume work. With over 650 biographies of influential women and over 600 topical articles covering topics such as geography and history, culture and society, organizations, movements, and gender studies, Women in World History is the definitive reference work in the field.
- University of Iowa Libraries Manuscripts and Manuscript Collections
More than 10,000 letters or manuscript pieces, principally from the 19th and 20th centuries: agriculture, labor, U.S. Vice President Henry A. Wallace and his era, journalism, popular culture, politics (especially Iowa), railroads, vaudeville, movies and television, and the American Civil War. Major literary manuscript collections relate to British writers Leigh Hunt, Edmund Blunden, Angus Wilson, and Iris Murdoch, and to over 100 Iowa authors.