The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

A-Z E-Resources

Find the best library databases for your research.

Find articles in scholarly journals and magazines with these databases and indexes. Look for UILink button in search results to link to full text resources (when available). For assistance please visit E-Resources Help: problems, tips, etc.

Restricted Resource - UI Access Only – Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Iowa Mobile Resource – Mobile-enabled resource

Database Trials (Resources Under Evaluation)

Hide descriptions
Show descriptions
Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
The premier library documenting the life of America's people from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction, to provide digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912.
New
The fifty thematic subsets from AAS Historical Periodicals include digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals not available from any other source and provide rich content detailing American history and culture from the mid-18th century through the late-19th century. These specialized collections cover advertising, health, women's issues, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.
New
BioCyc is a collection of 13075 Pathway/Genome Databases (PGDBs), plus software tools for exploring them [Karp17]. Key aspects of BioCyc data:
Quality data curated from tens of thousands of publications, including curated databases for E. coli, B. subtilis, H. sapiens, and S. cerevisiae.
Computationally predicted metabolic pathways and operons.
Data integrated from other databases including gene essentiality, regulatory networks, protein features, and GO annotations.
New
From the award-winning, nongovernmental National Security Archive, this resource consists of expertly curated, and meticulously indexed, declassified government documents covering U.S. policy toward critical world events – including their military, intelligence, diplomatic and human rights dimensions – from 1945 to the present. Each collection is assembled by foreign policy experts and features chronologies, glossaries, bibliographies, and scholarly overviews to provide unparalleled access to the defining international issues of our time.
New
A collection of over 20,000 historical contemporary reviews, essays and commentary related to more than 500 influential authors from the 17th to early 20th century. The content comes from a range of sources such as contemporary periodicals as well as published and unpublished letters. The cornerstone of the collections comes from the renowned Critical Heritage series from Routledge. These historical documents and essays allow readers to contextualize some of the most important authors in order to investigate how contemporary critics assessed their works.
New
This module covers U.S. involvement in the region from the early days of the Kennedy administration, through the escalation of the war during the Johnson administration, to the final resolution of the war at the Paris Peace Talks and the evacuation of U.S. troops in 1973. Along the way, documents in this module trace the actions and decisions at the highest levels of the U.S. foreign policy apparatus, as well as events on the ground in Vietnam, from the perspective of State Department officials, Associated Press reporters, and members of the U.S. Armed forces, including the Marines and the Military Assistance Command Vietnam.
New
The majority of Latino Literature is in English, with selected works of particular importance (approximately 25% of the collection) presented in Spanish; more than 6,000 pages of bilingual text; and many Spanglish works. There are approximately 60,000 pages of fiction; 32,000 pages of poetry; and 450 plays, 200 of which are previously unpublished
New
The religion area of OHO provides new essays on critical topics and emerging issues in the study of religion, complementing hundreds of essays on Christianity, Islam, Hinduism, Sikhism and cross-cultural thematic studies that are part of the rich trove of Oxford Handbooks in religion. All of these essays can be accessed individually through key word searches related to the religious traditions, thematic fields, and analytic approaches covered in this comprehensive collection of essays, authored by some of the most authoritative scholars in religious studies. Advisory editors monitor the development of this collection and ensures its academic relevance and competency.
New
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Coverage: 1867 - 2001
New
SPIE eBooks is a growing collection of titles from SPIE Press, the largest independent publisher of optics and photonics books. The collection includes all of the top SPIE Press monographs, reference works, field guides, tutorial texts, and Spotlight eBooks to keep researchers current on the latest science and technology and advancing their own work.
New
Subscribed to The New York Academy of Sciences archives and The Royal Anthropological Institute of Great Britain and Ireland. Wiley Digital Archives is a continuous program of new databases comprised of unique or rare historical primary sources, digitized from leading societies, libraries, and archives around the world, and made accessible in ways that tie directly to research outcomes and educational goals. All Archives are cross-searchable, and contain tools for searching, browsing, analyzing and visualizing primary source content.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...