Skip to main content
The University of Iowa Libraries

The University of Iowa Libraries

Guides

Anthropology: Home

A guide to basic information resources in Anthropology

Getting Started

Anthropology is "a bridging discipline, capable of spanning the many divisions of the human sciences." Tim Ingold, preface to Companion encyclopedia of anthropology: Humanity, culture and social life (Routledge, 1994). There are many handbooks to the subfields of anthropology in addition to the selections listed here. Reference books in Anthropology are shelved in the GN-GT range of the Main Library Reference Collection (Alcove 4).

Oxford bibliographies online: Anthropology provides annotated guides to the scholarship on a growing number of of topics in anthropology ranging from general, e.g., Culture, Nationalism, Popular Culture, Literacy, subfields, e.g., Digital Anthropology, Ethnoarchaeology, Business Anthropology, Anthrozoology, Primatology, to biographical articles, e.g., Gregor Mendel, E. E. Evans-Pritchard, and Louis Leakey.

A companion to linguistic anthropology, edited by Alessandro Duranti (Blackwell, 1994). Main Library P35 .C59 2004.

The Cambridge handbook of linguistic anthropology, edited by N. J. Enfield, Paul Kockelman, and Jack Sidnell (Cambridge
     University Press, 2014). Main Library P35 .C24 2014.

Encyclopedia of Cross-Cultural Psychology, ed. by Kenneith D. Keith (Wiley, 2013) focuses on cultural and indigenous psychology.

Theory in social and cultural anthropology: an encyclopedia, edited by R. Jon McGee and Richard L. Warms (Sage, 2013)

The handbook of sociocultural anthropology, edited by James G. Carrier and Deborah B. Gewertz (Bloomsbury Academic, 2013). 
     Main Library GN316 .H357 2013.

A companion to paleoanthropology, edited by David R. Begun (Wiley-Blackwell, 2013).

Handbook of methods in cultural anthropology, edited by H. Russell Bernard (AltaMira Press, 1998). Main Library GN345 .H37 1998.

A handbook of practicing anthropology, edited by Riall W. Nolan (Wiley-Blackwell, 2013).

21st century anthropology: A reference handbook, edited by H. James Birx (Sage, 2010).

A companion to medical anthropology, edited by Merrill Singer and Pamela I. Erickson (Wiley-Blackwell, 2011). Main Library
      GN296 .C68 2011.

Encyclopedia of anthropology, edited by James Birx (Sage, 2006). Also Main Reference Collection GN11 .E525 2006.

Oxford encyclopedia of Mesoamerican cultures, edited by David Carrasco (Oxford University Press, 2001).

 

Subject Guide

Chris Africa
Contact:
(319) 335-5017