Skip to main content

Guides

Amy Chen: English and Communications Librarian

Amy Chen

Amy Chen's picture
Amy Chen
Contact:
University Libraries
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
Website

Publications

Books

Archival Bodies: The American Literary Collections Market since 1955. Amherst, MA: University of Massachusetts Press, Forthcoming 2019. 

Miracle and Mystery: A Guide to the Wade Hall Collection. Montgomery, AL: New South Books, Forthcoming 2019.

Articles

Amy Chen, Michelle Chesner, and Shannon K. Supple. "Roundtable Discussion: Teaching Printing History with Codex Conquest." Printing History: The Journal of the American Printing History Association 23 (Winter 2018): 45-55. 

Amy Chen. "Possessing An Inner History: Curators, Donors, and Affective Stewardship." Collections: A Journal for Museum and Archives Professionals 12.3 (2016): 1-38.

Amy Chen. "The Perils of Literary Celebrity: The Archival Stories of Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath." Ted Hughes Society Journal 2 (2011): 20-31.

Chapters

Amy Chen and Kathryn Heffner. "Mentoring a Peer: A Feminist Ethic for Directing Undergraduate Humanities Research." Undergraduate Research and the Academic Librarian: Case Studies and Best Practices. Chicago, IL: ACRL, 2017: Online.

Amy Chen, Melanie Meyers, Charlotte Priddle, and Abby Saunders. "K-12 Outreach Methods."  New Directions for Special Collections: An Anthology of Practice. Editors Lynne M. Thomas and Beth M.Whittaker. Santa Barbara, CA: Libraries Unlimited, 2016: 39-54.

Amy Chen, Sarah Pickle, Heather Waldroup. "Changing and Expanding Libraries: Exhibitions, Institutional Repositories, and the Future of Academia." The Process of Discovery: The CLIR Postdoctoral Fellowship Program and the Future of the Academy. Washington, DC: CLIR, 2015: Online.

Amy Chen and Brooke Champagne. "A certain kind of seduction: Using Special Collections to Teach Primary Source Research to Honors First Year Writing Students at the University of Alabama." Innovative Practices in Archives and Special Collections: Instruction. Lanham, MD: Rowman & Littlefield, 2015: 117-130.

Blogs

Conference Totes: A Sustainability Do or Don't. RBMS (2019): Forthcoming.  

Finding the Modernist Archive: Why UX Matters. Modernism/Modernity Future Pasts 3.2 (2018): Online. 

How to Use OER Games in the Classroom. HASTAC (2018): Online. 

Survival Bias. The Newly Composed PhD: Writing Across Careers (2017): Online. 

PhDs in the Library. The Newly Composed PhD: Writing Across Careers (2016): Online. 

Natural Life Archive: A Q&A with Tirtza EvenArchive Journal (2016): Online.

Digital Resources for Teaching with Primary Sources. Archive Journal (2016): Online.

Reviews

"The Pioneer Americanists: Early Collectors, Dealers, and Bibliographers." RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage 19.2 (Fall 2018): 154. 

"The Publishing Trap." Journal of Librarianship and Scholarly Communication 6.1 (2018): 2267. 

"Lise Jaillant's Cheap Modernism: Expanding Markets, Publishers's Series, and the Avant-Garde." Archives and Manuscripts 46 (2018): 258-259.

"Lisa Gitelman's Paper Knowledge: Toward a Media History of Documents." SHARP News: Society for the History of Authorship, Reading, and Publishing. (2015): Online.

"Trends in Rare Books and Documents Special Collections Management, 2013 Edition." RBM: A Journal of Rare Books, Manuscripts, and Cultural Heritage 15.1 (2014): 78-81.

"Keith E. Byerman's The Art and Life of Clarence Major." Callaloo 37.2 (2014): 454-456.

"Alberto Manguel's The Tower, The Traveler, and The Worm." Textual Cultures 8.1 (2013): 121-123.

Digital 

Principal Investigator and Game Designer. Human Games. 2016-.

Education

PhD, English, Emory University, 2013.

MA, English, Emory University, 2010.

BA, English (Honors) and Political Science, University of Iowa, 2006.

Committees

Chair. Publications and Communications Committee. RBMS. 2017-2020.

Ex-Officio to the Editorial Board. RBM. 2017-2020. 

Elected Member. Libraries and Research Executive Committee. MLA. 2017-2020.

Nominated Member. Iowa Center for the Book Advisory Council. State of Iowa. 2019-2021. 

Member. Humanities Advisory Board. University of Iowa. 2017-2020.

Member. Scholarly Publishing Team. University of Iowa Libraries. 2016-2019.

Member. Communication Team. University of Iowa Libraries. 2018-2019.

Member. Collections and Storage Team. 2019. 

Associations