Philosophy: Home

Information resources for philosophy

Information Resources

Philosopher's Index  Icon
Provides indexing and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy and related fields--ethics, aesthetics, social philosophy, political philosophy, epistemology, and metaphysic logic as well as material on the philosophy of law, religion, science, history, education, and language. [Not compatible with Internet Explorer 9]

PhilPapers  Icon
A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers, PhilPapers monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics.

Oxford Bibliographies Online  Icon
Subscribed modules include Philosophy, Linguistics, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islamic Studies.
Combining the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, Oxford Bibliographies Online guides researchers to the best available scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.

Cambridge Histories Online  Icon
This unique historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series including a dozen titles in the Cambridge History of Philosophy.
Provides access to 400+ titles in the well-regarded Cambridge Companions series of essay collections on individuals (Bertrand Russell, John Dewey, Moses Maimonides, Plato), cultural movements and historical periods (Early Greek Philosophy, German Idealism, Logical Empiricism, Philosophy of Biology), and works (Heidegger's Being and Time, Kant's Critique of Pure Reason, Plato's Republic, Aristotle's Nicomachean Ethics).
Oxford Handbooks Online: Philosophy  Icon
OHO Philosophy brings together the world's leading scholars to discuss research and the latest thinking in a range of major topics in philosophy. Containing specially-commissioned essays with extensive referencing to further reading, the handbooks offer both thorough introductions to topics in the discipline, and a useful reference resource for scholars and advanced students.To limit searches to UI subscribed content, check "Unlocked" under "Narrow Your Choices."
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Based on Routledge's Encyclopedia of Philosophy (1998), the online encyclopedia is regularly updated with new and revised entries.
The International Aristotle Bibliography Online gives access to over 50,000 books, articles, book reviews and dissertations on the ancient Greek philosopher Aristotle. The IABO is a comprehensive international bibliography comprising publications from the period of 1900 to the present (as well as some earlier printed works) in European languages on all aspects of Aristotle studies and closely related subjects.
Searchable and browseable database offering extensive access to the web of correspondence between the greatest thinkers and writers of the long eighteenth century and their families and friends, bankers and booksellers, patrons and publishers. Coverage includes letters and documents, document sources such as manuscripts and early printed editions, scholarly annotations, and links to biographies, dictionaries, encyclopedias, newspapers, and other online resources. Eighteenth-century French, English, and Scots philosophers are very well represented.
Full-text humanities database, including works of such philosophers as Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Hobbes, Mill, Bentham, Machiavelli, Rousseau, Descartes, Leibniz, Spinoza, Aristotle, Thomas Aquinas, Wittgenstein, Peirce, Kierkegaard, Adam Smith; mostly in English.

Subject Guide

Chris Africa
Contact:
(319) 335-5017