Textbook Requirements
This page provides the clerkship resources that are available from the Hardin Library collection.
Some of the resources noted here are required while some are recommended. Some clerkships provide required textbooks for students.
Please check with the clerkship coordinator or director for further information.
Obstetrics & Gynecology
IOWA CITY & DES MOINES
Case Files Obstetrics and Gynecology, Fifth Edition by ISBN: 9780071848725Publication Date: 2016-07-04This links to the sixth edition.
Beckmann and Ling's Obstetrics and Gynecology by Call Number: RG101 .B33 2019ISBN: 9781496353092Publication Date: 2018-05-03Hardin Library Permanent Reserve (3rd floor)
- Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
Surgery
IOWA CITY
DES MOINES
Materials will be provided in the course.
- AccessSurgery This link opens in a new windowAccessSurgery from McGraw-Hill Medical introduces a whole new dimension to surgical education and clinical practice. Updated regularly, this comprehensive online surgery resource enhances medical knowledge and delivers quick answers to surgical inquiries – all in one place.
Pediatrics
IOWA CITY
- Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed)The LactMed® database contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
DES MOINES
Materials will be provided in the course.
Psychiatry
IOWA CITY & DES MOINES
- Diagnostic and Statistical Manual: DSM-5-TR This link opens in a new windowThe American Psychiatric Association’s Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM) is a classification of mental disorders with associated criteria designed to facilitate more reliable diagnoses of these disorders. With successive editions over the past 60 years, it has become a standard reference for clinical practice in the mental health field. Includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases and DSM-5 Update
Neurology
IOWA CITY & DES MOINES
Materials will be provided in the course.
Emergency Medicine
IOWA CITY & DES MOINES
Materials will be provided in the course.
Internal Medicine
IOWA CITY
Materials will be provided in the course.
DES MOINES
First Exposure Internal Medicine: Hospital Medicine by Call Number: RA972 .F57 2007ISBN: 0071459014Publication Date: 2007-03-02Hardin Library Permanent Reserve (3rd floor)
IM Essentials Text: A Medical Knowledge Self-Assessment Program For Students by Call Number: RC59 .I452 2015ISBN: 1938921097Publication Date: 2015Hardin Library stacks (4th floor)- IM Essentials Questions: A Medical Knowledge Self-Assessment Program For Students by Call Number: RC59 .I45 2015ISBN: 1938921100Publication Date: 2015Hardin Library stacks (4th floor)
Selectives
ANESTHESIA
Materials will be provided in the course.
DERMATOLOGY
Materials will be provided in the course.
OPHTHALMOLOGY
- The Physician's Guide to Eye Care by Call Number: RE48 .T76 2001ISBN: 1560551895Publication Date: 2001-01-01This enhanced edition contains information about refractive surgery, cranial nerve palsies, pupillary disorders, HIV and the eye, and management of corneal abrasion. Many illustrative photographs and the close-ups and at a glance summaries provide easy access to critical information.
ORTHOPEDICS
Materials will be provided in the course.
OTOLARYNGOLOGY
Materials will be provided in the course.
RADIOLOGY
Radiology 101 by Call Number: RC78 .R242 2010ISBN: 9781451144574Publication Date: 2013-10-18Available from the Hardin Library reserve collection (3rd floor).
UROLOGY
Materials will be provided in the course.
- AUA University: Medical Students CurriculumDeveloped by the American Urology Association, this curriculum helps students learn core principles and practices in urology that are important for every practicing physician to know and apply throughout their medical careers, regardless of their career path.