This is the "English Information" page of the "Hiroshima/Nagasaki" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Hiroshima/Nagasaki  

Last Updated: Jun 12, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/Hiroshima-Nagasaki Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

English Information Print Page
  Search: 
 

InfoHawk

 

Subject Headings

To find more materials on the topic in library OPACs, try the following Subject Headings.

  • Hiroshima-shi (Japan) -- History -- Bombardment, 1945
  • Nagasaki-shi (Japan) -- History -- Bombardment, 1945
  • Atomic bomb victims -- Japan -- Hiroshima-shi
  • Atomic bomb victims -- Japan -- Nagasaki-shispan>
  • Atomic bomb in literature

If you are looking for particular types of works, try adding Form subdividions such as 

  • Bibliography
  • Comic books, strips, etc.
  • Diaries
  • Drama
  • Documentary films
  • Fiction
  • Personal narratives
  • Pictorial works
  • Poetry 
 

  Request Materials

Interlibrary Loan/Article Delivery Request System

Request a book, photocopy of an article or book chapter, view/modify outstanding requests, renew checked out items, and view request history.
 

Past Events & Library Rerouces

  • Wednesday, Sep 10, 2008: Memories of a Hiroshima Atomic Bomb Survivor
    On August 6, 1945, Ms. Yoshiko Kajimoto was working as a mobilized student in an airplane parts factory 2.3 km from the epicenter of where the atomic bomb was dropp on Hiroshima.
    UITV recording of this event is available on DVD (29381 DVD).
  • Monday, Nov 16, 2009 to Sunday, Feb 28, 2010: Material Witness: Remembering Hiroshima and Nagasaki Library Exhibition
    Developed by the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum, this is a touring exhibit.
    "The spirit of Hiroshima : an introduction to the atomic bomb traged / by the Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum (Japanese Collection FOLIO D767.25.H6 H656 1999)" and "
  • Tuesday, Feb 9, 2010: Memories of a Hiroshima Atomic Bomb Survivor II
    Mr. Katsufumi Shintaku told his story via web conferencing to UI and Drake University audience.
    Recording of this event will become available on DVD soon.
 

1000 Paper Cranes

In Japan, people fold 1,000 cranes with origami papers when making a wish for longevity, recovery from illness, and so on. Many people have folded and dedicated 1,000 cranes to Hiroshima and Nagasaki wishing for world peace.

Origami crane diagrams:

* at Derek Stancombe's Website: http://www.origami.org.uk/origamicrane.htm 

* at Origami Resource Center website: http://www.origami-resource-center.com/paper-crane.html

 

Bibliographies

 

Personal Narrative Videos Online

  • "Memories of a Hiroshima Atomic Bomb Survivor" University of Iowa Libraries, September 2008
    Event held at the Iowa City Public Library. Sponsored by and in cooperation with the City of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Hiroshima Peace Memorial Museum and Nagasaki Atomic Bomb Museum. University of Iowa sponsors include the UI Libraries, Center for Asian and Pacific Studies, International Writing Program, Departments of Political Science and History, Center for Human Rights and International Programs. Recorded program is available at http://ir.uiowa.edu/lib_workshops/3/.
     
  • "The Global Forum: On the Future of Nuclear Weapons" Webster University, March 2010
    http://eagle.webster.edu/TheGlobalForum/ 
    Series of events include web conference titled “Mr. Truman Meets Hiroshima on the Future of Nuclear Weapons, 1945 – 2020.” Mr. Kenji Kitagawa shares his experience as a Hiroshima atomic bomb survivor at this event. Recorded program is available at http://eagle.webster.edu/TheGlobalForum/webcast.htm.
     
  • "Hiroshima Nagasaki Download: Memories from Americas" Shinpei Takeda and the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs
    http://www.hiroshima-nagasaki.com/ 
    This is the collaborative project between Shinpei Takeda, a filmmaker who is documenting Hibakusha accounts outside of Japan, and the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs. 12 clips are available. The website is based on Takeda's film, Hiroshima Nagasaki Download, which is available on DVD (73 min.  Main Media Collection Video record 33404 DVD).
      
  • "Hiroshima Survivors Tell of the First Atomic Attack" University of California at Santa Barbara, September 2009
    http://www.uctv.tv/search-details.aspx?showID=16446 
    Event recorded by UCTV and first aired on 5/25/2009. Ms. Junko Kayashige and Ms. Miyako Yano told their stories as survivors of Atomic Bombing.
    59 minutes
      
  • "No More Hibakusha" NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)
    http://www.nhk.or.jp/no-more-hibakusha/index_en.html 
    Testimony section includes 15 videoclips of Hiroshima A-bomb survivors and 10 videoclips of Nagasaki A-bomb-survivors with English subtitles. Archives section also includes additional NHK TV program videoclips with English subtitles.
     
  • "Talks by an A-bomb Survivor and the Chairperson of the Hiroshima Peace Culture Foundation" Montana State University, September 2008 http://btc.montana.edu/video/library/player4.aspx?TheID=44&Thefield=url1
    Ms. Shigeko Sasamori, an A-bomb survivor, and Mr. Steven Leeper, Chairperson of the Hiroshima Peace Culture Foundation, spoke to audience at the Bozeman Public Library.
     
  • "Testimony of Hibakusha (atomic bomb survivors)"" Ministry of Foreign Affairs http://www.mofa.go.jp/policy/un/disarmament/arms/testimony_of_hibakusha/index.html
    Testimonies offerred on the Ministory of Foreign Affairs websites. 11 YouTube clips and 15 PDF domuments are available in English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
 

Personal Narratives

 

Literature

Japanese Literature in Translation Search Japan Foundation
http://www.jpf.go.jp/JF_Contents/InformationSearchService?ContentNo=13&SubsystemNo=1&HtmlName=search_e.html
Data for this database are collected in cooperation with the Japan PEN Club and UNESCO. Data coverage is from the end of World War II to the 1990s. Select "Detailed Display" on the search result list to obtain complete citation information. 

 

Well-known A-bomb literature authors include:

  • Hara Tamiki  
  • Hayashi Kyoko (Nagasaki)
  • Kurihara Sadako
  • Ota Yoko
  • Toge Sankichi

 

 

Comics

  • Barefoot Gen : a cartoon story of Hiroshima. Keiji Nakazawa ; translated by Project Gen.
    San Francisco, Calif. : Last Gasp of San Francisco, 2004-
    Main Library PN6790.J33 N3313 2004 
     
  • Town of evening calm ; Country of cherry blossoms. Fumiyo Kouno ; translation, Naoko Amemiya and Andy Nakatani.
    San Francisco, Calif. : Last Gasp ; London : Turnaround [distributor], 2006.
    Main Library PN6790.J33 K6613 2006


Updated: 6/12/2014

 

Feature Films

  •  Chichi to kuraseba [videorecording].  
    Tōkyō : Bandai Bijuau, c2005.
    Main Media Services Video record 22981 DVD 
    Also known as “The Face of Jizo.” With English subtitles.  
     
  • Genbaku no ko [videorecording].  
    Tōkyō : Azmik, c2001.
    Main Media Services: Video record 32835 DVD
    Also known as "Children of Hiroshima." In Japanese with English subtitles. 
     
  • Hachigatsu no kyōhshikyoku [videorecording] = Rhapsody in August.
    Santa Monica, CA : MGM Home Entertainment, 2003. 
    Main Media Services Video record 32378 DVD
    In Japanese with English subtitles.  
     
  • Hadashi no Gen. [videorecording] 1 & 2= Barefoot Gen : the movie. 1 & 2.
     [United States] : Geneon Entertainment USA, Inc., [2006]
    Main Media Services Video record 38587 DVD
    In Japanese with English subtitles.  
     
  • Kuroi ame [videorecording] = Black rain. 
    [New York?] : Fox Lorber Home Video ; Chatsworth, CA : Distributed
    exclusively by Image
    Main Media Services Video record 9878 DVD 
    In Japanese with English subtitles.

Updated: 6/12/2014

 

Documentary Films

  • Attack and reprisal [videorecording].
    [Oak Forest, Ill.] : MPI Home Video, c1984.
    Main Media Services Video record 534 VHS
     
  • Hellfire, a journey from Hiroshima [videorecording].  
    Brooklyn, NY : First Run/Icarus Films, c1986.
    Main Media Services Video record 12460 VHS
     
  • Hiroshima [videorecording] : why the bomb was dropped.  
    Orland Park, IL ; MPI Home Video, c1996.
    Main Media Services Video record 8295 VHS
     
  • Hiroshima Nagasaki, August, 1945 [videorecording].   
     [San Francisco, Calif.] : The Video Project, [2000?]
    Main Media Services Video record 19057 VHS
     
  • Hiroshima no pika [videorecording] = Hiroshima no pika : bideo ehon ; [and] Hellfire : a journey from Hiroshima. 
    [United States] : First Run Features, c2005.
    Main Media Services Course Reserve Video record 20678 DVD
     
  • The last atomic bomb [videorecording].   
    Harriman, N.Y. : New Day Films, [c2006?]
    Main Media Services Video record 28972 DVD
     
  • Nijū hibaku [videorecording] = Twice bombed, twice survived : the doubly atomic bombed of Hiroshima and Nagasaki   
    Tokyo : Takishizu, [2008]
    Main Media Services Video record 28717 DVD
    In Japanese with optional English Subtitles
     
  • Original child bomb [videorecording] : meditations on the origin of the atomic age. 
     [Santa Barbara, Calif.] : Unquiet Projects, LLC ; San Francisco : distributed by Center
    URL Web site for the film: http://www.originalchildbomb.com/
    Main Media Services Video record 19879 DVD
     
  • The spirit of Hiroshima [videorecording].
    San Francisco, CA : NAATA, [c1997]
    Main Media Services Video record 5448 VHS 
     
  • White light, black rain [videorecording] : the destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki.
     [New York, N.Y.] : HBO Video, c2007.
    Main Media Services Video record 24719 DVD

Drawings by A-bomb Survivors

 

Photographs

  • Hiroshima after the Atomic Bomb on 360 Cities site
    http://www.360cities.net/image/hiroshima-after-atomic-bomb-nuclear-1#27.00,4.10,32.2
    The site includes 5 panoramic photographs taken by Shigeo Hayashi, US Army, H.J. Peterson, and Harbert F. Austin Jr. in October, 1945.
     
  • Explore Hiroshima - a people's map of areas affected by the atomic bomb
    NHK (Japan Broadcasting Corporation)
    http://www.nhk.or.jp/hiroshima/hibakumap/e/index.html
    Includes many ptohographs taken before and after bombing.
     
  • Nagasaki Journey : the photographs of Yosuke Yamahata
    Exploratorium, The museum of science, art and human perception
    http://www.exploratorium.edu/nagasaki/mainn.html
    Yosuke Yamataha set his foot in Nagasaki on August 10th and photographed the devastated city. 25 photographs by Yamahata are made available on this website. Exhibition catalog, "Nagasaki journey : the photographs of Yosuke Yamahata, August 10, 1945" is also available: 
    Main Oversize FOLIO D767.25.N3 Y356 1995

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Chiaki Sakai
坂井千晶
さかいちあき
Contact Info
Japanese Studies Librarian
100 Main Library
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: 319-335-5030
FAX: 319-335-5900
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip