Basic ScienceClinicalDiagnosticEpidemiologicalEthicalPopulation-BasedPsychosocial
Plagiarism
This is the "Home" page of the "CAPS/MAS" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CAPS/MAS   Tags: caps, course_page, mas, medical_students  

Resources chosen to assist with the researching of your CBL reports and other assignments in Clinical and Professional Skills as well as Medicine and Society.
Last Updated: Aug 27, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.uiowa.edu/CAPS_MAS Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Are we missing something?

Know of a great resource that is not on this list?  Let us know!

Electronic Book Packages

These resources contain multiple electronic books and other information such as patient education handouts.  If you are looking for a specific book, you may want to check out our ebook page.

  • AccessMedicine  Icon
    AccessMedicine.com is an online resource that provides complete references and services for physicians, students, and health professionals who need immediate access to authoritative and current medical data. It is updated daily. The service's central resource is a repository of medical knowledge from internal medicine, cardiology, genetics, pharmacy, diagnosis and management, basic sciences, patient care, and more. All databases in the repository contain the latest editions core medical titles from the AccessLange collection.
  • AccessPharmacy  Icon
    AccessPharmacy is an online curricular resource designed to meet the changing demands of pharmacy education. A flexible resource, AccessPharmacy allows students to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, or search across leading pharmacy online references.
  • STAT!Ref  Icon
    Electronic medical library.
  • ClinicalKey  Icon
    ClinicalKey provides access to more than 1100 medical texts published by Elsevier, articles from more than 500 journals, practice guidelines, drug information, and patient education handouts. All can be searched together, individually, or by type of resource (books, journals, etc.) ClinicalKey replaces MDConsult.
    Users must log in to (free) personal accounts to download PDFs.

Other Electronic Books

Lab Values

Point of Care Tools

These resources are meant as "point of care" resources. This means they give quick information and overviews for the most part. If you click on the little blue circle to the right of the resource, you will see a description.

  • DynaMed  
      
  • VisualDx  
      
      Icon  Icon
    VisualDx gives general practitioners the ability to build a differential diagnosis that provides specialist information for more than 900 diseases and offers more than 16,000 related images.
  • MedlinePlus
  • UpToDate  
      
      Icon
    UpToDate is a practical clinical information service designed to provide instant access to just the information you need. It is written by a recognized faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue. They synthesize the latest evidence and best practices and provide detailed recommendations. [Access to UpToDate is co-funded by the Carver College of Medicine, the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics, and Hardin Library for the Health Sciences.]
  • ACP Smart Medicine  Icon
    ACP Smart Medicine is a decision-support tool designed for point-of care use and take the place of ACP Pier. Smart Medicine is a collection of modules divided into five topic types: disease, screening and prevention, complementary and alternative medicine, ethical and legal issues, and procedures.

Journal Article Databases

  • PubMed  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Broad Biomedical Subject Coverage
  • CINAHL Plus  Icon  Icon  Icon
    Nursing and Allied Health Database - Good for Clinical & Psychosocial Questions
  • PsycINFO  Icon
    Psychology Database - Good for Psychosocial Questions
  • ABI/INFORM Global  Icon  Icon
    Business Database - Good for Insurance & Health Administration Questions
  • Google Scholar
    Ok for interdisciplinary topics, but keep in mind that there are limitations with relevancy ranking and coverage. There's also the issue with personalization of Google.

Clinical Education Librarian

Profile Image
Amy Blevins
Contact Info
amy-blevins@uiowa.edu
Hardin Library for the Health Sciences
319 335 7636
Send Email
 

Get More Help

Have a general library question?

Contact the Hardin Library reference desk

Phone:
319-335-9151
Email: lib-hardin@uiowa.edu

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip